Legal Practice Council Notice: Operations of the Legal Practice Council

To: All Legal Practitioners  Candidate Legal Practitioners

Operations of the Legal Practice Council (the Council)
The Council will continue to serve the members of the profession and society. We will ensure that there is no breakdown of essential services to legal profession. The offices of the former provincial law societies are now the offices of the Legal Practice Council. Members of the legal profession both attorneys and advocates should use these offices for all their professional requirements with effect from the 01st of November 2018.

Once the Council is ready we will announce the election process of the Provincial Councils. Thereafter all the Provinces shall elect and constitute their Provincial Councils (PC) without delay so that our services must be nearer to the practitioners as well as to the members of public.

Until all the nine (9) PC offices are established, members of the profession and public who require services from the Council must contact the following LPC.

Gauteng, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West
ProcForum Building, 123 Paul Kruger Street, Pretoria
Telephone: (012) 338 5800; email:

Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Western Cape
29th Floor,ABSA Centre, 2 Riebeek Street, Cape Town;
Telephone: (021) 443 6700 , email:

200 Hoosen Haffejee Str, Pietermaritzburg
Telephone: (033) 345 1304 , email:

Free State
139 Zastron Street, Bloemfontein
Telephone: (051) 447 3237, email:

NB: Members of the profession and society are at liberty to approach any of the above offices nearest to them irrespective of the provinces they are located.
In the interim, and as a measure to safeguard the proper continuation of regulation of the legal profession, the Council has resolved to appoint some of the committees which operated in the provincial law societies immediately before law societies were dissolved.

The following committees have been appointed, namely:
I. Admissions and Articles;
II. Examinations;
III. Examiners and Convenors;
IV. Disciplinary Committees;
V. Practice Management Training Exemptions Committees; and
VI. Contingency Fees Tribunal.

Kind regards,
Ms Kathleen Dlepu
Chairperson: Legal Practice Council